Springdale AR Divorce Mediation Basics
Our Springdale AR divorce mediation can be an alternative to lengthy, public court battles. A divorce mediator can assist with a settlement agreement on issues like property division, alimony, child support and child custody, and more. Arkansas offers both “fault” and “no fault” bases for divorce like many other states. However, filing a “no fault” divorce in Springdale can save you significant time and money when you use a divorce mediator to assist with your marital settlement agreement.
In Arkansas, for a no-fault divorce, couples need to show separation for 18 months. Ark. Code Ann. § 9-12-301(b)(5). There are some residency requirements under Arkansas law, but these are minimal; you must have lived in Arkansas for 60 days prior to filing.
When you are ready to file, you can visit the Arkansas Circuit Courts for forms and information. Arkansas Legal Services also provides self-help divorce forms that will be useful for filing.
You can save time and money by first working with a mediator to resolve your disputes and then file an uncontested divorce in Springdale, Arkansas.
For more information on Springdale AR divorce mediation, visit DivorceNet’s page on divorce in Arkansas.
Divorce mediation offers a number of advantages, including:
- lower cost,
- freedom to make informed decisions,
- control, and
You and your spouse control the outcome of divorce mediation, not the courts.
For divorce mediation to be successful, it’s important that both spouses engage in good faith. Mediation will likely not be successful if one spouse is more interested in harming the other spouse than resolving disputes over property or child custody arrangements. If both spouses engage in good faith, though, mediation can save significant time and money for both spouses.